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What you should know about asbestos if you’re building or remodeling 
 
It’s a common misconception that asbestos is usually found only in buildings constructed prior to 1970. Asbestos is still 
being manufactured  today,  and  by  law  it  can  be  used  in many  building materials,  such  as  exterior  siding  insulation, 
ceiling and floor tile, wallboard, duct work and even textured paint. Though asbestos is generally believed to be safe if 
left undisturbed, repairs, remodeling or demolition can result in the release of microscopic fibers of asbestos into the air. 
Breathing asbestos fibers has been linked to serious lung diseases and cancer. 
 
Before major repairs, remodeling or demolition, Texas law requires that any public building must be inspected for asbestos 
before work can begin.  If asbestos is found, the Texas Department of Health must be notified. The requirement applies to 
any commercial building with public access, including office buildings, shopping centers, apartments, hotels, schools, stores, 
restaurants  and  other  business  establishments.  Violation  of  any  portion  of  the  Texas  Asbestos  Health  Protection  ACT 
(TAHPA) can result in fines of up to $10,000 a day. 
 
 

REQUIREMENTS 
 

Building  owners  and  contractors must  take  the  following  steps  to  ensure  compliance with  state  asbestos  regulations. 
(Homes and apartments with fewer than four units are excluded from these requirements unless part of a larger project.) 
 

 Determine  if and how much asbestos  is present at  the site. Building owners and contractors are responsible  for 
making sure that a thorough asbestos survey is completed by a licensed inspector. 

 Hire  only  licensed  asbestos  professionals  to  perform  asbestos‐related  activities  on  public  buildings.  A  list  of 
licensed asbestos  inspectors and asbestos removal contractors  is available from the Texas Department of Health, 
Toxic Substances Control Division/Asbestos Programs Branch. 

 Notify  the  Texas  Department  of  Health  Toxic  Substances  Control  Division/Asbestos  Programs  Branch  of  your 
intention  to  demolish  a  public  building  or  facility. Notification  is  required  for  any  demolition, whether  or  not 
asbestos has been identified. 

 Notify  the  Texas  Department  of  Health  Toxic  Substances  Control  Division/Asbestos  Programs  Branch  of  your 
intention to abate any amount of asbestos.  You must submit your notification at least 10 working days before the 
project  start date. Besides  the  scheduled  start and  completion dates, you’ll need  to  identify  the  type of project 
(demolition or renovation), location of the site, names of the operators or asbestos removal contractors, methods 
of removal and amount of asbestos involved. 

 Get  the  required  two‐page  notification  form  from  the  Texas  Department  of  Health,  Toxic  Substances  Control 
Division/Asbestos Program Branch. 

 
 

PENALITIES 
 

State health  inspectors have the authority to enter any areas to determine compliance with the regulations of the Texas 
Asbestos Health Protection Act.  In addition, violations can result  in a fine of up to $10,000 a day. As long as the violation 
continues, each day is considered a separate violation. 
 
Learn more about the Texas Asbestos Health Protection Act and the health risks associated with asbestos by calling  
1‐800‐572‐5548, or visit www.dshs.state.tx.us/asbestos 
Additional information and support can be obtained by calling the TDH Regional office.  
Austin Address:  
Texas Department of Health Toxic Substances Control Division,  
Asbestos Programs Branch 
1100 W. 49th Street 
Austin, Texas  78756 
(512) 834‐6610, Fax: (512) 834‐6644 


